etetool.gif (3468 bytes)"Basic Classifications"


In theory, there are several classifications of copper cabling systems available for datacom applications today. In fact,the EIA/TIA-568-A standard (see .EIA/TIA 568-a standard) defines five categories or types of copper cable and components:

Category 3 -16 MHz, 100 ohm. unshielded twisted pair.

Category 5/5e -100 MHz, 100 ohm, unshielded twisted pair.

Category 6 - 250MHz

Category 7 - 600 MHz

Fiber Optics

    The reality, however, is that only one-Category 5-is in widespread use at this Lime. In fact, Cat 5 has become synonymous with copper (as opposed to fiber optic) teledata systems.
    The reason is simple: speed.
    Category 3 cabling, at just 16 MHz, was originally intended for slower computer networking protocols like old-style Ethernet. But as data applications speeded up, Cat 3 soon became too slow for anything but voice telephone communications.     Rather than moving up to the next level of bandwidth-the 20 MHz Category 4 systems-most data network specifiers and users jumped directly to Category 5 for significantly greater speed.
    What's more, as prices for Cat 5 cable and components have dropped, many installers now use Cat 5 for all voice systems as well as data systems, virtually eliminating Cat 3 from the market.

- This article was written by Brooke Stauffer.

Back To Communication Page
Back To Main Page

If  you have any questions, suggestions, or comments you can email E.T.E. at

2007, Electricians Toolbox Etc...

Design by TC